Pre-departure jitters: a mixture of jubilation and sheer terror

It is two more sleeps until I set off for the Philippines. Physically I am totally prepared, everything from Deet 80% insect repellent to that Kinky Friedman novel I always wanted to read.

There is still a slight sense of apprehension inside of me. Perhaps it is coming down from the high of the Pre Departure Training or trying to find answers for my family’s endless questions.

I think the greatest question mark comes from the fact that I can’t visualise what my life will be like on a day-to-day basis. What will I eat for breakfast; do they have coffee; where will I live? If I were based in Manila it would be different, but I am going to the complete unknown. And I have the interesting pioneering position of being the first AYAD to go to Northern Samar. 

This all sounds a bit woosy, I have plenty of social safety nets through my in-country manager, fellow volunteers, host organization, family and friends back home. 

As a paratrooper friend once told me, “Feel the fear and do it anyway.”

Leave a Reply

